Stevens ELC Staff Feature: Ms. Kelly Walsh, CES Teacher

What is your role at Stevens for the SY20-21? How long have you been teaching? This year I will be teaching in Stevens Communication and Education Support (CES) classroom! This will be my third year in DCPS. I previously taught in a CES classroom for Kindergarten, 1st, and 2nd grade students. 

What are you looking forward to the most? This will be my first year with the early childhood age group, but I am looking forward to creating a classroom environment that encourages students to lean into their curiosities as young learners and supporting them as they explore new concepts. 

 Can you share a little about your teaching philosophy? I think it is best to lead with love. In order for students to be successful in the classroom (and beyond), I think it is so important to continually communicate to each student, through my words and actions, that they are valued, and their thoughts, ideas, experiences, and emotions are heard and they matter. Building those relationships with students and creating a classroom space that is grounded in respect can influence how they develop and see themselves and others. I think students learn best when they feel they have a team on their side always rooting for them!

How can we make virtual learning successful? At challenging time like this, I think we can make virtual learning successful by remaining understanding when collaborating with the students and all of those who support them. Learning, teaching, and living in these circumstances can be overwhelming so it is critical that when working with everyone in our community we remember that everyone is adapting, learning as they go, and trying their best to support the students. I always want to communicate to students, parents, and families that I am grateful for their support and participation in virtual learning and want to be considerate of their student/family needs in order to have this be a positive and constructive experience. 

What are some of your favorite children’s books? I love reading books from the Elephant and Piggie series by Mo Willems. My students really enjoy these characters and think they are so funny. Often times, I’ll read the stories out loud with a lot of animation or do silly voices and the students will repeat some of the text back, so I love hearing them have fun with the story as well! 

 What was your favorite childhood book? I’m Gonna Like Me by Jamie Lee Curtis and Laura Cornell. 

 If you could have any super power what would it be and why? I would love to have the ability to fly. I think it would be cool to see things that I can typically see, but from a different perspective. Also, I would love to have the ability to travel far and wide so quickly, whenever I wanted!

Leave a comment