Stevens ELC Staff Feature: Sally Tsou, Art Teacher

We are so excited Ms. Tsou from the Fillmore Arts Center is joining the Stevens ELC staff!


  • What is your role at Stevens for the SY20-21? How long have you been teaching? I have taught more than 15 years: high school, middle school, and elementary between DCPS, Montgomery Public School, and Fairfax public school.
  • What do you love most about the ECE age group? Love ECE group students because they are open to create any kind of art love to learn, In depth of their express, Honest and courage, sensitive  full of free spirit, curious about every thing with passion as an true artist.
  • Can you share a little about your teaching philosophy? Empower all students to be self-directed lifelong learners who are able to achieve both social emotional intelligence and academic success. Students will be able to develop innate kindness, innovative problem solving skills, bold willingness to contribute to their community and lead passionate, purposeful lives, BE AND KIND AND HAPPY PERSON!
  • What are some resources to help make virtual learning for art successful? I love teaching in person and I have hard time handling technology because the school I used to teach at, Fillmore Art Center, doesn’t use many technology. I am struggling with all the technology I need to learn in such a short time.  I wish to teach in person as soon as possible. The photos in the above slideshow share more about my students’ artwork and their work in DCPS art shows and contests. Also here are some examples of one of my lesson plans: All About Bamboo and Trashion Fashion. The below photos features my own art work from national and international art shows.
Phoenix, Mixed Media
  • Can you share a little about your classes or former students? My students win the National Cherry Blossom art contest almost every year!
  • What are some of your favorite types of children’s books?Art, poetry, culture, science, history, fiction, cartons/animation children books
  • What was your favorite childhood book?The Little Prince
  • Fun fact? I always wanted to go up to visit the other planets in the universe so I want to be a UFO for my super power.

Leave a comment