Stevens ELC Staff Feature: Kristen Brown, ELS Teacher

Meet one of our Early Learning Supports (ELS) teachers, Kristen Brown!

What is your role at Stevens for the SY20-21? How long have you been teaching? This is going to be my 8th year teaching and my 4th year teaching with DCPS. I will be one of the Early Learning Support teachers. Previously I taught in a prek CES classroom. 

What do you love most about the ECE age group? I love ECE because you can incorporate so much learning into play and see so much progress in students so quickly! I love teaching foundational skills that I know will benefit each student forever. 

 Can you share a little about your teaching philosophy? I believe each student learns best when instruction is tailored and differentiated to meet their own learning needs. Education is not one size fits all. I love creating materials and adapting the curriculum for my students to make sure every student has access to learn. 

How can we make virtual learning successful? We can make virtual learning successful by having compassionate collaboration. This is such a challenging time for so many for many different reasons. Building relationships with families and students is key before learning can take place.

What are some of your favorite children’s books? Don’t let the pigeon drive the bus by Mo Willems, Dot by Peter Reynold, Pete the Cat, Click Clack Moo, Cows that Type by Doreen Cronin

What was your favorite childhood book? Dog Breath by Dav Pilkey

If you could have any super power what would it be and why?  I would want to be able to fly so I defeat my fear of heights and also get from place to place faster!

Leave a comment